REVIEW: Rescuer – With Time Comes The Comfort [2013]

Artist: Rescuer
Album: With Time Comes The Comfort
Rating: 9.5/10

1. Breathe
2. Birds of Prey
3. Shame
4. Fell
5. Settled Ground
6. Faded Youth
7. Untitled
8. Bring Me Back
9. Too Far Gone
10. Locked Inside
11. Tides
12. Dead Ends

Those that keep saying Rise Records change a band need to take notice. Rescuer will come as a surprise to many of the critics saying that Rise doesn’t step outside the box. Not that I think it was ever true to begin with. But almost every YouTube video they upload or album they release it doesn’t stop people for making the same old tired out comments about the label and its influence over the band. I kind of touched on this when I reviewed The Plot In You’s album. But this should be ever evident here with this band.

Possibly going to be the most underrated release of this year, Rescuer’s “With Time Comes The Comfort” is an album to buy and force all your friends to listen to. Rescuer are a band hailing from Tampa Bay, Florida. The band plays a modern style of screamo and hardcore in a way that comes off melodic and metallic at the same time. In all honesty, they make the sound original and bring something new to the scene. This debut album from Rescuer is guaranteed to get them noticed and to make a couple of top 10 lists in 2013. There are so many great things about this album that it is hard to name them all.

The album is compromised of song after song that strikes you as different and true. Not for a second do you feel Rescuer is forcing any of the passionate lyrics or the heartwarming drumbeats or the resounding guitars. You can tell what influences Rescuer though, certain songs have clear aspects of what bands while others have a mix. Rescuer isn’t stealing anyone’s sound though, but rather mashing them together to form something that is beautiful and unique. The song “Shame” has a Defeater vibe to it mixed with the driving sound that reminds me of Counterparts and sticks out as one of my top tracks on the album. While “Settled Ground demonstrates the hardcore influence, like bands such as Modern Life Is War and Give Up The Ghost. Rescuer not only delivers a stellar musical performance but a lyrical one as well. “Untitled” is a song anyone can relate to who has found themselves in a hopeless position in their life and is a song that really connects with me on a personal level. The lyric, “Every thought too weak to cross my lips is pouring out of my fingertips.” perfectly describes the lyrical process on this album. The emotional depth you hear in the songs is not only written down in them but heard with the raw sentiment in the instruments.

Rescuer is able to take a sound and make it their own. It seems there is a rising popularity in this sound of music but I’m not complaining in the least. Rescuer looks to be on the right track of making a name for themselves and proving the most cynical critics wrong. Rescuer is able to take influences from hardcore, metal, and melody in the perfect tones and produces one of the finer albums this year. Definitely worth checking out if you’re a fan of bands like Modern Life Is War, Ruiner, or Give Up The Ghost or if you like bands with more melody like Defeater, Have Heart, and City of Caterpillar.

For fans of: Defeater, Modern Life Is War, Give Up The Ghost

Leave a Reply