Review: Autumn Stay – The Equinox (New Transcendence EXCLUSIVE)


Band: Autumn Stay
Album: The Equinox
Rating: 5/5


1. Control Game
2. Death to Him
3. Dream Girl
4. Owen
5. Poison
6. Roam Arrow
7. Sirens
8. Stitched Up
9. Waste Like You
10. Till You’re Gone


There are few bands who impress me before I ever get to hear an album/EP in full. Autumn Stay is one of those bands. When I first heard vocalist Dani Blizzard’s voice, chills ran through my body from how amazing it sounds. She sounds like a more angsty version of Lacey from Flyleaf, which is PERFECT in my opinion! I recently had a chance to see them live and let me tell you, I would recommend EVERYONE going to see them. They are amazing live, studio, and in general. There are few bands out there who actually choose to interact with fans, let alone take the time to sit down and talk with them and for that, I greatly respect this extremely talented outfit of musicians. When I received the email containing “The Equinox”, I instantly got excited and threw it on my iPod. I have not stopped listening to it since! So without further ado, I give you my review of the astoundingly wonderful album that is “The Equinox”


Key Tracks:

Control Game: The first track I ever heard from this band and also, quite possibly still one of my favorites. It has a very dark theme (which is quite apparent by the lyrics), but overall, it’s a solid track with incredible instrumentals. If I was to suggest ¬†you a track to listen to off the album, it would probably be this one.

Dream Girl: Now, I found out that this is the song that Dani has been using for crowd participation and I love it even more for that reason. Seems to be that the theme here is jealousy. “She is on your mind with her legs spread wide” is repeated quite a few times in this song. Easily the catchiest song on the album to me. It has an AMAZING solo from Clint Settles, who is now replaced by Stephen Troyce Harold Douglas as well!

Owen: Now this song holds a special place in my heart for a couple reasons. Not only is it beautiful, heartfelt, and a tear-jerker, but I had the pleasure of having Dani sing this song to me the first time I had a chance to see them! Definitely recommend everyone to listen to this one.

Sirens: Now there’s an extended cut of this song on their facebook page, but I prefer the album version. This track is possibly one of the heaviest and most fun to watch them perform live.


Final Thoughts:

Now, I know there wasn’t alot for me to say about the key tracks, as I wasn’t given much background about them. I will say this, though, “The Equinox” is quite possibly one of the best albums I’ve heard this year! Everything about it is perfect from the vocals to the solos to the lyrical content, they nailed it! I just touched on some of the tracks that hit me hardest, but the entire album is DEFINITELY worth the buy! Go pick up your copy as soon as it’s available! Also, go check them out on their Facebook page and add the members because they are some of the coolest, most down-to-earth people you will ever meet!

Leave a Reply