Review: Captain, We’re Sinking – The Future Is Cancelled



Artist: Captain, We’re Sinking
Album: The Future Is Cancelled
Rating: 8.6/10

Track List:
1. Adultery
2. Brother
3. Annina, We Will Miss You
4. The Future Is Cancelled, Pt. I
5. Montreal
6. More Tequila, Less Joe
7. Beer Can
8. You Have Flaws
9. Lake
10. Here’s To Forever
11. A Bitter Divorce
12. Shoddy Workmanship


Scranton, PA’s Captain, We’re Sinking are a punk band who are really up on musicianship. Despite the fact that they don’t really take themselves too seriously and their lyrics really remind me of Say Anything at points, they are a fun band who I’m sure people of all ages can find themselves enjoying. Another really awesome thing I discovered is that there are parts of their vocalists repertoire that really sound like Maynard James Keenan (Tool/A Perfect Circle). They signed to Run for Cover Records last year and put out a 7″ titled “Montreal” which got some incredible response. The quartet is back with their new album “The Future Is Cancelled” and it definitely pushes above and beyond what you may have expected from them. Gritty punk with a hint of comedic value? Your initial reaction may be “well Say Anything has that covered”. My response would be then to say “Not in this way.” Max Bemis is a genius, don’t get me wrong. But Say Anything is a band that’s not meant to be taken too seriously, just enjoyed. Here’s where the similarities to SA end for CWS, this band honestly comes off pretty serious at times. Story Time at it’s finest is how I would describe CWS’ style. You feel raw emotion in these songs, whether it be anger, sadness, happiness, or anything in between. The Future Is Cancelled is an album you definitely do not want to find yourself missing. Pick up your copy of The Future Is Cancelled on Run For Cover Records or iTunes and find out why Punk is still alive and breathing! Also, catch them on tour with The Menzingers, Restorations and Fake Problems!!


Captain, We’re Sinking on Facebook

The Future Is Cancelled (iTunes) (Run For Cover Records)

Run For Cover Records on Facebook

Earshot Media on Facebook