REVIEW: The Plot In You – Could You Watch You’re Children Burn? [2013]

Artist: The Plot In You
Album: Could You Watch Your Children Burn?
Rating: 8.5/10

1. Premeditated
2. Fiction Religion
3. Digging Your Grave
4. Population Control
5. Troll
6. The Devil’s Contract
7. Shyann Weeps
8. Sober And Soulless
9. Bible Butcher
10. Glad You’re Gone

When I got into heavier music I use to look for solos in the songs, then it became all about breakdowns, and while I still enjoy those two elements in music. I find myself concentrating more and more on lyrics and emotional range. A lot of vocalist have come to the realization that screaming until your voice gives out adds a lot of emotional depth to a song rather then re-recording it until it sounds perfect. Imperfections in music give it an emotional touch. Landen Tewers delivers some of his most intense vocals yet in Could You Watch Your Children Burn?, The Plot In You’s sophomore release on Rise Records.

The album kicks off with “Premediation” which is about a premeditated murder written in extreme detail. While some may flinch at the song and call it disgusting (several have already via Tweeter) the song really does give you chills. It isn’t an unjust murder though, seeing as the song goes to great lengths to describe the crime, an act of rape. One of the most chilling parts in “Premediation” is the nervous breakdown right before the deed is done in the song. Where Brandon whispers/grunts out the lyrics “I feel the demons inside me, they feel what I feel”. Some people claim that Landon abused these type of vocals through out the album but it gives the whole album a nu-metal vibe.

“Fiction Religion” is the next track that kicks in and the fury is still prominent. But this time the lyrical focus is on religion, instead of a rapist. The song has some great moments and is probably one of the few songs that could fit on First Born and not feel too out of place. This is another song where the lyrics shine though, “I don’t feel anything now, my hope and my faith let me down”. Overall it is a very catchy song and a song people who have been frustrated with their faith can relate too. Some may be rubbed the wrong way, but the subject material on all the songs is very close to the chest.

“Digging Your Grave” has been one of the most talked about songs on the album because of it being a shot at lead singer of Of Mice & Men, Austin Carlile. I’m not one to care about whatever happened between them, but it must have been something bad to have such an angry song written towards him. This song fully demonstrates the ambient sounds that Landon has put into the album. Some of the effects on the song are, but not limited to: a banana getting stabbed, garbage cans being thrown against a door, and something very similar to urination (probably a water bottle being emptied out and a pant’s zipper). A lot of these sounds are littered throughout the album and they definitely bring some interesting moments.

Another song that really sticks out in the album is “Sober and Soulless”. The album slows down and creates a great moment. It is one of the few songs on the album that has a positive message, instead of just being full of angst. This could be partly due to the fact that Landon recorded the song prior to the sessions in which he wrote the rest of the album. It is nice to know that Landon can write more than just purely angry songs over and over again. A similar performance is delivered on the song “Glad You’re Gone” as well. Which I would say is the superior of the two in my honest opinion.

The album overall brings a new sound to the band and has divided a lot of fans. Most people tend to blame Rise Records, but the entire album was produced by Landon, so that one kind of falls short. Bands change, sometimes people enjoy the changes other times people are disappointed. I personally find the album refreshing, extremely heavy and angry, and overall a fantastic listen. I do admit some of the nu-metal sounds came off as cheesy at first but after several listens of the album they’re some of my favorite parts. Instead of cringing at the remembrance of my awkward high school years listening to Slipknot I can make new memories to the bending high notes of guitars that sound like metal scraping against metal.

Some of my other favorite tracks, besides the ones I mentioned, were “Population Control”, “The Devil’s Contract”, and “Glad You’re Gone”. If you were a fan of First Born you should definitely give this album a listen. I would even argue to give it more than one listen, as I’ve heard it grew on several people. The album offers a lot of interesting moments and renews some faith in some of the sounds Slipknot, Korn, and Mudvayne made famous in the late 90’s early 00’s. The Plot In You may have changed their sound but they certainly haven’t changed their attitude. This album is sure to offend many people but its topics are real and personal.

For fans of: Like Moth To Flames, Destruction of a King, From Atlantis

Leave a Reply