Review: New Years Day – Victim to Villain


Artist: New Years Day
Album: Victim to Villain
Rating: 10/10

Track List:
1. Do Your Worst
2. I’m No Good
3. Bloody Mary
4. Victims
5. Hello Darkness
6. Death of the Party
7. The Arsonist
8. Angel Eyes (featuring Chris Motionless of Motionless in White)
9. Any Last Words?
10. Tombstone
11. Last Great Love Story

Let me start by saying that, prior to this album, I hadn’t had much exposure to Anaheim, CA’s New Years Day. However, once I heard “Victim to Villain”, I was curious to see how the band has progressed so I went to Spotify and listened to the entire catalogue. Here’s my findings: The progression this band has made over each album is absolutely astounding. Starting with their debut album “My Dear” which dropped in 2007 all the way up to this album which is, quite simply put, the best and most impressive NYD to date! Also, for those of you who have only been following this band since Ash Costello’s statement regarding their tour with BOTDF, I suggest you go back and do exactly what I did to truly grasp how amazing this album is. The band is known for bringing fun to the darker subjects in life and it’s never stood truer than on this album!

Coming out the gate with “Do Your Worst”, which is a track about revenge and making the best of a bad situation. Specifically, this track seems to be one of those “stuck in a bad relationship” types of tracks. We’ve all had those types of relationships and we all have our ways of dealing with it. Some get mad, some get even and some one-up the offender, this track is about the latter.

The newest single “I’m No Good” is a track about embracing your dark side, rather than forcing it into hiding. Let me clarify what I mean by this, it’s not a track about going out and murdering your neighbor because they stole your newspaper or anything like that. It’s simply a way of saying life’s too short to live it with regrets. If you get angry, find a way to express it, rather than dropping it. If you embrace your dark side, you can become much stronger because you can open your eyes to the ways of the world.

The latest track released off of the album “Angel Eyes” which features Chris Motionless of Motionless In White is a dark duet that only these 2 bands could pull of this way. If you recall, Motionless In White released their new video from “America” which features Ash as a hostess, but that’s another story. My point being that these 2 make an incredible pair and I would definitely love to see more from them. When Chris starts screaming about halfway through, the track takes a heavier turn and it just grabs you and pulls you in further! Definitely a go-to track on the album.

My favorite track off of this album is “Death of the Party” which is NYD’s very successful stab at a dance anthem! “We are the death of the party, we’re here to save you.” This is a track about being an outcast and embracing it. You’re not alone if you’re an outcast, there are many like you worldwide and when us outcasts come together, the party truly starts! Who parties better than those who embrace the darkness? That’s right, no one!

Final Thoughts:
I was made a fan when I heard what this band had to offer. Once I heard the new effort “Victim to Villain”, though? That was cemented in stone and I can’t wait to see the responses from fans once they finally get to hear this mammoth of an album in full! While I only talked about a few of the tracks, let me assure you that there is not a bad song on this album. Ash’s vocals are powerful, Russell’s drum beats add to that dark feel and with the addition of Anthony’s groovy bass lines, and Nikki and Jake’s shredding power on the guitar, this album is a force to be reckoned with! Don’t just take my word for it, though! Go pick up your copy of “Victim to Villain” and find yourself embracing the evil within! Out next Tuesday, June 11th on Century Media!

New Years Day on Facebook

Victim to Villain Pre-Order (Century Media/District Lines)

Century Media on Facebook